Bridgend County Borough Council sees number of councillors reduced following boundary review

Changes to electoral ward boundaries within Bridgend County Borough are to be made in time for the 2022 local elections.

Following the completion of a review by the Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales, Minister for Finance and Local Government Rebecca Evans has confirmed that the number of wards is to reduce from 39 to 28.

The number of local members will also decrease from 54 to 51, with each member representing an average of 2,096 electors.

The biggest boundary changes will be made in Brackla and Porthcawl, and will need to be reflected in both Brackla Community Council and Porthcawl Town Council.

Fifteen of the new wards will be represented by more than one councillor. Seven will feature two councillors, and eight will feature three councillors.

Nine existing wards – Aberkenfig, Blackmill, Llangynwyd, Maesteg East, Maesteg West Nant-y-moel, Ogmore Vale, Oldcastle and Pen-y-fai – will remain as they are. The rest will all feature changes in either name, size or how many elected representatives they will feature.

Proposals to combine Aberkenfig and Penyfai into a single new ward have been dropped.

The full list of new wards will be as follows:

New ward name: Number of elected representatives:
Aberkenfig One
Blackmill One
Brackla East and Coychurch Lower Two
Brackla East Central One
Brackla West One
Brackla West Central One
Bridgend Central Three
Bryntirion, Laleston and Merthyr Mawr Three
Caerau Two
Cefn Glas Two
Coity Higher Three
Cornelly Three
Garw Valley Three
Llangynwyd One
Maesteg East Two
Maesteg West Two
Nant-y-moel One
Newton One
Nottage One
Ogmore Vale One
Oldcastle Two
Pencoed and Penprysg Three
Pen-y-Fai One
Porthcawl East Central Two
Porthcawl West Central One
Pyle, Kenfig Hill and Cefn Cribwr Three
Rest Bay One
St Bride’s Minor and Ynysawdre Three


In addition to their English-medium names, seven of the 28 wards will receive new Welsh-medium names. They are:


  • Aberkenfig – Abercynffig.
  • Bridgend Central – Canol Pen-y-bont.
  • Blackmill – Melin Ifan Ddu.
  • Maesteg East – Dwyrain Maesteg.
  • Maesteg West – Gorllewin Maesteg.
  • Ogmore Vale – Bro Ogwr.
  • Oldcastle – Hengastell.


To read the boundary review report in full, visit the Welsh Government website.

%d bloggers like this: