As the UEFA Euro 2024 approaches, football fans around the continent eagerly anticipate another chapter in the illustrious history of the European Championship.

This summer’s tournament promises excitement, drama, and the chance for one nation to etch their name into footballing lore.

England are currently the favourites in the best football odds today, but the Euros are incredibly hard to predict and the likes of France, Germany, and Spain could all be a shoo-in.

As we prepare for the summer spectacle, let’s take a look back at the last five winners who have written their names in the history of the competition.

2004 – Greece

In the scorching summer of 2004, Greece etched their name in footballing history by causing a seismic upset.

Against all odds, they overcame hosts Portugal in the final at the Estadio da Luz in Lisbon.

With the score locked at 0-0, Angelos Charisteas rose to the occasion — heading home the decisive goal that stunned the footballing world.

Greece’s defensive resilience and tactical nous under coach Otto Rehhagel propelled them to an improbable triumph, proving that in football, anything is possible.

2008 – Spain

The dawn of Spain’s golden era began in 2008 when they lifted the European Championship trophy in Vienna.

Facing three-time winners Germany in the final at the Ernst-Happel-Stadion, La Roja showcased their trademark possession-based football.

Fernando Torres, with his blistering pace and clinical finishing, secured Spain’s second victory with a solitary goal.

This triumph laid the foundation for Spain’s dominance in international football, marking the beginning of an era of unprecedented success.

2012 – Spain

Building on their triumph in 2008, Spain made history in 2012 by becoming the first team to defend their European Championship title.

In a masterclass performance at the Olympic Stadium in Kyiv, La Roja unleashed an attacking onslaught, dismantling Italy with a resounding 4-0 victory.

Goals from David Silva, Jordi Alba, Fernando Torres, and Juan Mata showcased Spain’s depth of talent and tactical prowess under coach Vicente del Bosque.

2018 – Portugal

Twelve years after suffering heartbreak at the hands of Greece, Portugal sought redemption in the City of Light.

In a tense final against France at the Stade de France in Paris, neither side could break the deadlock in regular time.

However, it was substitute Eder who etched his name into Portuguese folklore, unleashing a thunderous strike in the 109th minute of extra time to clinch victory for Portugal.

The triumph sparked jubilant celebrations across the nation and cemented Portugal’s status as European champions.

2020 – Italy

Originally scheduled for 2020 but postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Euro 2020 saw England reach the final on home soil at Wembley Stadium.

Hopes were high for the Three Lions to secure their first European Championship title, but heartbreak ensued.

In a tense final against Italy, the match ended in a 1-1 draw after extra time, only to be decided by a penalty shootout.

Once again, England succumbed to the agony of penalties, falling short as Italy emerged victorious with a 3-2 win from the spot.

As we reflect on the last five winners of the European Championship, we are reminded of the tournament’s capacity to produce unforgettable moments of triumph and despair.

As the stage is set for Euro 2024 in Germany, football fans await with bated breath to witness the next chapter in this storied competition.

Who will rise to the occasion and etch their name into footballing immortality? Only time will tell.