LONDON, UNITED KINGDOM - Sep 20, 2020: The exterior of the front of Alexandra Palace, London

The PDC World Championship has been a stage where legends are born, and a select few stand out as true dynamos, shaping the very fabric of darts history.

Among these luminaries, the likes of Phil Taylor, Gary Anderson, Peter Wright, Michael van Gerwen and Adrian Lewis have not just excelled but etched their names in the annals of the PDC World Championship.

That said, Let’s delve into the unparalleled legacy of these darting maestros.

Phil Taylor: The incomparable maestro

At the mention of the PDC World Championship, Taylor’s name resonates with unparalleled authority.

With an astounding 14 titles, including an unprecedented eight consecutive victories, Taylor’s reign is nothing short of darting royalty — and it is clear to see why he was so often the pre-tournament favourite in the PDC World Championship betting.

His legacy extends beyond mere victories – a 21-time finalist, Taylor’s journey defined an era and set a standard that may never be eclipsed.

Gary Anderson: The flying Scotsman

Anderson, an eight-time winner of PDC premier events, etched his name in history by winning the PDC World Championship back-to-back in 2015 and 2016 – a feat achieved by only a select few.

Anderson’s precision on the oche and his ability to navigate the pressures of consecutive triumphs solidify his place as a true icon of the championship.

After beating Taylor and Lewis in straight years, Anderson reached a third successive PDC World Championship final in 2017 — but lost 7-3 to Van Gerwen.

Peter Wright: Flamboyant flair

Following in the footsteps of the greats, Peter Wright emerged as an overriding force in the last few years — winning two of the last four renewals of the tournament.

His victories in 2020 and 2022, coupled with his colourful personality and unique style, marked a new chapter in the tournament’s history.

Wright’s dynamism adds a fresh dimension to the legacy of the PDC World Championship.

Michael van Gerwen: Dutch dominance

As Taylor’s powers began to fade out, Van Gerwen brought a new era of dominance to the PDC World Championship.

Claiming titles in 2014, 2017, and 2019, “Mighty Mike” showcased an exceptional blend of skill, intensity, and showmanship, establishing himself as a force to be reckoned with on the grand stage.

The Dutchman will perhaps be disappointed that he hasn’t added further World Championship successes to his CV in the last four years, as he lost to Wright and Michael Smith in 2020 and 2023, respectively.

Adrian Lewis: Back-to-back brilliance

Another name on the shortlist of back-to-back winners, Lewis brought explosive elegance to the oche when he won the PDC World Championship in 2011 and 2012.

Known for his dynamic scoring and clutch finishing, Lewis’s triumphs over Anderson and Andy Hamilton contributed to the tournament’s rich tapestry, cementing his status as a dynamo in the darting world.

As we celebrate these icons, the PDC World Championship stands as a testament to the enduring spirit of darts.

From Taylor’s era-defining dominance to the contemporary brilliance of Anderson, Wright and van Gerwen, each dart thrown in Alexandra Palace adds to the epic narrative of this illustrious championship.

These dynamos have not only conquered the board but have also shaped the very essence of darts excellence, leaving an indelible mark that will resonate through the arenas for years to come.