What the General Election results mean for Bridgend County Borough

Following the recent UK Parliamentary Election, Bridgend County Borough is now represented by three different Members of Parliament and is split into three new constituencies.

Due to a national boundary review, the changes have been introduced to ensure that each area is roughly the same size in terms of geography and population, meaning that the previous ‘Ogmore’ seat has now been abolished.

Alongside most of its existing areas, Bridgend now also incorporates the wards of Aberkenfig, Bryncethin, Bryncoch, Cefn Cribwr, Hendre, Felindre, Penprysg, Sarn and Ynysawdre (all of which were previously within Ogmore).

The changes also mean that the wards of Caerau, Llangynwyd, Maesteg East and Maesteg West (previously in Ogmore) and Cornelly and Pyle (formerly Bridgend) have been moved to the Aberafan Maesteg constituency.

Meanwhile, the new constituency of Rhondda Ogmore includes the former Ogmore wards of Blackmill, Blaengarw, Bettws, Llangeinor, Nant-y-Moel, Ogmore Vale and Pontycymer.

Here is the breakdown of results for each constituency:

Aberafan Maesteg- Elected MP: Stephen Kinnock (Welsh Labour)

Results: Stephen Kinnock (Welsh Labour)- 17,838, Mark Griffiths (Reform UK)- 7,484, Colin Deere (Plaid Cymru)- 4,719, Abigail Mainon (Welsh Conservative Party)- 2,903, Nigel Hill (Green Party)- 1,094, Justin Griffiths (Welsh Liberal Democrats)- 916, Captain Beany (Independent)- 618 and Rhiannon Morrissey (Heritage Party)- 183

Turnout: 35,755 (49.3%)

Bridgend- Elected MP: Chris Elmore (Welsh Labour)

Results: Chris Elmore (Welsh Labour)- 16,516, Caroline Jones (Reform UK)- 7,921, Anita Boateng (Welsh Conservative Party)- 6,764, Iolo Caudy (Plaid Cymru)- 3,629, Mark John (Independent)- 3,338, Debra Cooper (Green Party)- 1,760, Claire Waller (Welsh Liberal Democrats)- 1,446

Turnout: 41,482 (56.7%)

Rhondda Ogmore- Elected MP- Chris Bryant (Welsh Labour)

Results: Chris Bryant (Welsh Labour)- 17,118, Darren James (Reform UK)- 9,328, Owen Cutler (Plaid Cymru)- 5,198, Adam Robinson (Welsh Conservative Party)- 2,050, Christine Glossop (Green Party)- 1,177, Gerald Francis (Welsh Liberal Democrats)- 935

Turnout: 35,806 (48%)

Cllr John Spanswick, Leader of Bridgend County Borough Council, said: “I’d like to encourage our residents in Bridgend County Borough to familiarise themselves with their new constituency and MP following the significant boundary changes for this election.

“You can view maps for each of the new constituencies, including Bridgend, Aberafan Maesteg and Rhondda and Ogmore, by visiting the Boundary Commission website and scrolling though its list of areas. A postcode finder is also available on the UK Parliament website.”